Senate Approves 11 Judges for Supreme Court

In a Thursday plenary session, the Senate officially confirmed the appointment of 11 Supreme Court Justices. The decision followed a thorough debate among lawmakers who emphasized the need to bolster the judiciary budget and avoid prolonged vacancies in the Supreme Court.

Chaired by Senator Tahir Munguno, the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights, and Legal Matters screened all 11 nominees on Wednesday.

The committee presented its report during the plenary, leading to the approval of the nominations after the Senate transformed into the committee of the whole.

Among the newly confirmed justices is Justice Haruna Tsammani from the North-East, who notably chaired the 2023 Presidential Election Petition Court.

Other confirmed justices include Moore Adumein (South-South), Jummai Sankey (North-Central), Chidiebere Uwa (South-East), Chioma Nwosu-Iheme (South-East), and more.

This development stems from the recommendations of the National Judicial Council and President Bola Tinubu’s letter urging the Senate to confirm the nominees.


Peter Ritdung Wakkias is a Nigerian blogger and programmer, known for being the CEO of and He holds a Higher National Diploma in Computer Science from Isa Mustapha Agwai 1 Polytechnic Lafia. Based in Lafia, Nasarawa State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *