ECOWAS meeting today

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is set to suspend sanctions on Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger, currently under military rule following coups that ousted civilian governments in all three nations.

President Bola Tinubu, serving as Chairman of the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of States, is convening an extraordinary meeting at Aso Rock Villa in Abuja on Saturday morning.

According to presidential sources, the lifting of sanctions aims to encourage dialogue with the affected states, who are withdrawing from the bloc.

Headquartered in Abuja, Nigeria, the nearly 50-year-old ECOWAS consists of 15 member countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *